TOEFL Primary

The TOEFL Primary program offers three different tests for students ages 8+ to measure a range of skills — from students at the beginning stages of learning English to those who have acquired more communicative English skills. Each test offers reliable administration and scoring, together with meaningful and detailed feedback to help young learners progress.

TOEFL Primary tests assess students’ knowledge, skills, and abilities to fulfill core communication goals in English. The TOEFL Primary Reading and Listening tests are offered at two levels of proficiency, Step 1 and Step 2 so that students can select an assessment that more closely matches the level of their skills.

TOEFL Junior

The TOEFL Junior® tests, intended for students ages 11+ in middle school and lower levels of high school, are an accurate and reliable measure of students’ communicative skills in English. Based on the rich heritage of the TOEFL® test, the TOEFL Junior tests help us to pinpoint our students’ strengths and challenges.

Like all tests in the TOEFL Family of Assessments, the TOEFL Junior tests are based on solid research to ensure their fairness, validity, and reliability, and they reflect best practices in language testing.


The TOEFL ITP program was developed to meet demand from institutions and teachers for a convenient, affordable and reliable method to evaluate the students and curricula of existing English language learning programs. The TOEFL ITP assessments share the same rich heritage as the TOEFL® test — the world’s most widely accepted and respected English-language assessment.

TOEFL ITP tests differ from the classic TOEFL® exam, in that they are administered locally by institutions (or ETS Preferred Network offices) and can be used for a range of defined purposes, such as providing internationally benchmarked achievement standards for student progress within school.

Cambridge YLE

Cambridge English: Young Learners, also known as Young Learners English Tests, is a suite of English language examinations specially designed for children in primary and lower-secondary schools. The tests are provided by Cambridge English Language Assessment. In Stirling Schools, students take these exams at the primary level.

Cambridge KET

Key for Schools (formerly KET for Schools), is one of the Cambridge English Qualifications. It is an exam for school-age learners which will help prepare them for higher-level English language qualifications. At Stirling Schools, students take this exam at the end of the preparatory year program and, for some, in grade 7 as seems most appropriate to meet students’ individual needs.

Cambridge Preliminary (PET)

Preliminary (formerly PET), is one of the Cambridge English Qualifications. It is the English language exam that shows students have mastered the basics. At Stirling Schools, students take this exam at the end of grade 7 and, for some, in grade 10, as seems most appropriate to meet students’ needs.